Pilgrimage Tour

About Dwarka Dham Yatra

About Dwarka Dham Yatra

Dwarka General Travel Information

Famous For : Hindu Pilgrimage, Jagad Temple/Janmashtami
Languages : Gujarati, Hindi
Currency : INR (Rupees)
District : Jamnagar
State : Gujarat
Country : India

The revered city of Dwarka is one of the sacred Char Dham in India as well as one of the Sapta Puri, ancient holy pilgrimage centers in India. It is believed to be the ancient kingdom of Lord Krishna that was referred to as City of Gold. Located at western tip of Saurashtra peninsula, this city holds deep religious significance and attracts millions of devotees every year.

Lord Krishna spent a significant amount of his time at Dwarka when he moved here from Mathura to build his new kingdom. Every year on the auspicious eve of Janmashtami (birth anniversary of Lord Krishna), devotees of Lord Krishna gather at Dwarka to participate in the elaborated festivities commemorating Lord Krishna’s divine presence in the universe.

Dwarkadhish Temple

Also known as Jagat Mandir (Universal Shrine), Dwarkadhish temple is a Hindu shrine dedicated to Lord Krishna situated in the holy city of Dwarka, Gujarat. Believed to be constructed some 2500 years ago, the main shrine of is 5-storied, supported by 72 pillars and has a 43-metre high shikhar that adds grandeur to this exquisitely carved temple shrine.

The temple acquired religious significance and was declared one of the Char Dham after Adi Shankaracharya visited the shrine in 8th century. Since then, devotees of Lord Krishna visit the shrine to offer obeisance to the deity and seek blessings from the divine. The temple witnesses a great influx of devotees on the eve of Janmashtami as the festival is celebrated with great vigor at Dwarka.

Dwarka Temple & Ritual Timings

Morning Evening
6.30 am Mangla Arti 5.00 pm First Darshan
7.00 to 8.00 Mangla Darshan 5.30 to 5.45 Uthappan Bhog: Darshan Closed
8.00 to 9.00 Abhishek Pooja [Snan Vidhi]: Darshan Closed 5.45 to 7.15 Darshan
9.00 to 9.30 Shringar Darshan 7.15 to 7.30 Sandhya Bhog: Darshan Closed
9.30 to 9.45 Snanbhog : Darshan Closed 7.30 to 7.45 Sandhya Arti
9.45 to 10.15 Shringar Darshan 8.00 to 8.10 Shayanbhog: Darshan Closed
10.15 to 10.30 Shringarbhog: Darshan Closed 8.10 to 8.30 Darshan
10.30 to 10.45 Shringar Arti 8.30 to 8.35 Shayan Arti
11.05 to 11.20 Gwal Bhog: Darshan Closed 8.35 to 9.00 Darshan
11.20 to 12.00 Darshan 9.00 to 9.20 Bantabhog and Shayan : Darshan Closed
12.00 to 12.20 Rajbhog: Darshan Closed 9.20 to 9.30 Darshan
12.20 to 12.30 Darshan 9.30 pm Darshan Mandir Closed
13.00 pm Anosar, Darshan Closed

Char Dhams of India

Char Dham are the names of four pilgrimage places in India that are widely revered by most of the “Hindus”. The Char Dhams of India are: Badrinath, Dwarka, Jagannath Puri, and Rameshwaram.

Where to Stay

  • Hotels in Vrindavan
  • Hotels in Shirdi
  • Hotels in Tirupati
  • Hotels in Puri